Western NC Genealogy Resource Center
for Macon County

About Macon County

Macon, formed in 1828 from Haywood County, is in the western section of the State and is bounded by the state of Georgia and Clay, Cherokee, Swain and Jackson counties. It was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, speaker of the House of Representatives, United States Senator, and president of the Constitutional Convention of 1835. It The present land area is 516.23 square miles and the 1990 population was 23,499. The first court was ordered to be held in the town of Franklin. Franklin is the county seat.

Macon County Resources:

Macon County Historical Society
P.O. Box 822
36 W. Main St.
Franklin, NC 28744

Macon County Courthouse
5 W. Main Street
Franklin, NC 28734
Phone: 704-524-6421

Once Upon a Time Carolyn Collier's wonderful site with lots of Macon County resources, 1830 Macon County census, the start of a death index, etc.

Dawn's Genealogy Page, a great site full of Macon County Families, as well as 1840 Macon County census.

NOTE: The information on this page is copyrighted, and must not be used for any commercial purposes or reproduced in any form (printed, electronic, or otherwise) without prior permission. The content herein is copyrighted, except where previous copyright applies.

Products such as textual material, electronic and multimedia resources and materials created, authored and/or prepared by Diane Miller and / or Golden Branches are copyrighted in content, presentation and intellectual, creative origin. These electronically available materials are considered intellectual property and intended for use for educational, academic and research purposes and are not intended for commercial sale. Electronic versions of images, and all other graphical material, animation and digital renditions of video material are protected by copyright as intellectual property unless noted otherwise.

Back to Western NC Genealogy Resource Center

© 1996 - 2010
Golden Branches